• Home
  • /
  • Recent Media
  • /
  • VTBiz: Energy Action Network announces new board members, fellows program

Greater focus on research to help meet Vermont’s energy & climate commitments as Lunderville joins board

The Energy Action Network (EAN) today announced the addition of four Board Members and the creation of a new Fellows program to help expand research and analysis on meeting Vermont’s total energy and emissions reduction commitments. In addition to the new leadership on the Board, EAN recently launched a Fellows program. EAN Senior Fellows are leading experts, not employed by any Network member, who are invited by EAN to regularly contribute research and analysis that is relevant to the Network’s mission. Current Senior Fellows include Karen Glitman, Linda McGinnis, and Leigh Seddon.

“We are excited to welcome Neale Lunderville, Brian Gray, Linda McGinnis, and Sarah Brock to the Board,” said Leigh Seddon, EAN’s President and Board Chair. “Each new Board Member brings a depth and diversity of experience, as well as valuable expertise regarding Vermont’s energy and economic future.”

“EAN has become a trusted resource for comprehensive data and analysis on Vermont’s energy and emissions progress,” said Jared Duval, Executive Director of EAN. “This program will allow EAN to expand our capacity to bring important research to decision-makers and the broader Network across Vermont.”

The Fellows program is designed to further research on key questions from Network members and State partners about opportunities to make energy use more efficient and renewable while reducing emissions in Vermont. The first project, a white paper led by Karen Glitman, examines what Vermont can learn from how cap-and-invest systems have been implemented across North America. The paper will be released in the coming weeks.

EAN’s New Board Members & Senior Fellows:

Neale Lunderville is the former General Manager of the Burlington Electric Department and Interim Director of the Community & Economic Development Office (CEDO) of Burlington. Lunderville, who joined the EAN Board in January, brings a wealth of experience from his roles in administrations spanning from Governor Douglas to Governor Scott. Most recently he spearheaded Burlington’s net zero by 2030 efforts.

Brian Gray is the General Manager of the Energy Co-op of Vermont, a unique member-owned fuel dealer serving northwestern Vermont since 2001. Gray, who will officially join the EAN Board in June, is on the leading edge of a new model of energy service providers that focus on comfort, health, and energy-efficiency while helping Vermonters transition their homes to cleaner-burning and renewable fuels.

Linda McGinnis represents the EAN Fellows program on the Board. McGinnis most recently served as EAN’s Program Director but previously worked as a Lead Economist and Senior Manager at the World Bank for 20 years before moving to Vermont in 2010. She brings an international economic perspective in addition to her deep focus on climate and energy policy.

Sarah Brock is the Energy Program Manager for Vital Communities. Brock provides support for the Upper Valley’s 40+ local energy committees, engaging with dozens of volunteers and clean energy businesses in programs to advance progress on renewable energy and strengthen local community efforts.

Karen Glitman is the Senior Manager for Market Development and Policy at the Center for Sustainable Energy (CSE) and a Senior Fellow with EAN. Glitman was most recently the Policy Lead for Microgrids at the Vermont Energy Investment Corporation (VEIC) and brings more than 20 years of policy expertise and public service experience to the Fellows Program.

Leigh Seddon is the founder of Solar Works, Inc., and brings over 30 years of experience in the solar photovoltaic and thermal industries to his role as EAN’s Board Chair and Senior Fellow. In that time Seddon has served as an energy consultant to electric utilities, the U.S. Department of Energy, the U.S. Agency for International Development, and the World Bank. Seddon was the author of the original 90% Renewable by 2050 Energy Pathways report, and his work still forms the basis for EAN’s Annual Progress Report.

About Energy Action Network (EAN):

Energy Action Network (EAN) is a diverse network of over two-hundred non-profits, businesses, and public partners, all working together to achieve Vermont’s 90% renewable by 2050 total energy commitment and to significantly reduce Vermont’s greenhouse gas emissions in ways that create a more just, thriving, and sustainable future for Vermonters.

The core staff of EAN’s non-profit organization supports the work of Network members by presenting and analyzing official data; serving as an objective tracker of progress; acting as a neutral convener that refrains from policy advocacy; and facilitating communication across the Network.

Original Press Release in Vermont Business Magazine: https://vermontbiz.com/news/2019/april/23/energy-action-network-announces-new-board-members-fellows-program

Contact EAN

  • Jared Duval

    Jared Duval

    Executive Director
    802‑829‑7421   jduval@eanvt.org
  • Cara Robechek

    Cara Robechek

    Deputy Dir. & Network Manager
    802-552-8450   cara@eanvt.org
  • Lena Stier

    Lena Stier

    Data Manager
    802-735-3894   lena@eanvt.org
Back to top
Close Offcanvas Sidebar